The American Catholic Church in the United States | Our Sacraments
page-template-default,page,page-id-15386,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,vertical_menu_enabled,side_area_uncovered_from_content,qode-theme-ver-9.4.1,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-4.12,vc_responsive

Our Sacraments


We celebrate the 7 sacraments. We are a reconciling community, in that our celebrations are open to all the People of God.  


The sacraments say that not only has God called all human beings into everlasting freedom, but these sacraments celebrate and apply that reality in the present. Historically, rituals have had a two-fold purpose: to celebrate what God has done for us and next, by a clear and faith filled implication, what God is doing for us right now.


It is best to think of the sacraments as activating signs in three tenses: they build on the past, invoke the active and present God in ritual actions, and are oriented to future fulfillment and glory.


As a community of faith, walking in the footsteps of Christ and the Apostles, we celebrate the sacraments always reaching out and accepting those who have been oppressed and disenfranchised.


  • All the people of  God are welcome at the celebration of:  
  • Mass (reception of the Eucharist)
  • Baptism
  • Confirmation
  • Anointing of the Sick, Hospital, Nursing Home and Home visits, Communion Calls,  Funerals, Memorial Services, Christian Burials, Wake Services & Grief Counseling
  • Marriages, Holy Unions
  • Reconciliation, Pastoral Counseling, and Spiritual Direction
  • Ordination


Our priests, deacons and religious are referred to as “working clergy”. All clergy in the ACCUS must support themselves through secular jobs and are not supported through or by the church or parish in which they are residing.  We are in fact prohibited from charging for any Sacramental service.  While we are free to accept donations, we may not charge for our services.